Week 16, Week 17: Settling Into the New Normal

Weekly Summary
– Starting to find my routine that works with track season
– Lots of PRs on the bike/CC Bike Path!
– Ride song of the week on the bottom!

Monday (3/2): OFF
Tuesday (3/3): 
3.3 miles RUN
Wednesday (3/4):
OFF
Thursday (3/5): 
2.7 miles RUN
Friday (3/6): 
11.6 miles BIKE
Saturday (3/7):
 13.1 miles BIKE
Sunday (3/8):
13.4 miles BIKE

Monday (3/9):
13.5 miles BIKE
Tuesday (3/10):
11.4 miles BIKE
Wednesday (3/11):
OFF
Thursday (3/12):
1.7 miles RUN
Friday (3/13):
OFF
Saturday (3/14):
11.5 miles BIKE
Sunday (3/15):
21 miles BIKE

WEEKLY TOTAL
Week 16: 6 miles RUN, 38.1 miles BIKE
Week 17: 1.7 miles RUN, 57.4 miles BIKE

2015 TOTALS
RUN: 39.3 miles
BIKE: 276.4 miles

Tuesday, March 3, 2015: https://www.strava.com/activities/262696024
Neighborhood run with the track team.  Running fitness is better.  I don’t notice much pain anymore in my neck etc.  However, the shortness of breath is persistent.  Went to physical therapy today to help with the nerves in my neck.  Main advice was to do traction every day.  My neck looks strong.  However, the PT was not optimistic this would fix all of my symptoms as he hadn’t seen them before.  I’m remaining hopeful as I like to make things difficult for doctors.

Thursday, March 5, 2015: https://www.strava.com/activities/263541987
Typical run.  Nothing too much of note other than its brevity.  Always good to get out.

Friday, March 6, 2015: https://www.strava.com/athlete/calendar?utm_source=top-nav#Mar
Weather was beautiful, but the track hadn’t melted yet so no JV meet.  Took a trip down memory lane by biking from school to Union Station.  I miss that ride every morning.  So much better commuting on 2 wheels as opposed to 4.  I do not miss navigating Florida just east of Quebec during rush hour with more potholes than usual though.

Saturday, March 7, 2015:https://www.strava.com/activities/265232855
Route: BV2.  Bicycle Village (BV) to Union Station where I catch the BV bus.  I will be friends with this route for the coming couple of months.  With the nice weather, I attacked the ride.  Having 30 minutes in between busses motivated me to get going too…  Door to door in 39:39, first time under 40!  Felt good, but definitely bonked at the end.  Needed more food!

Sunday, March 8, 2015: https://www.strava.com/activities/265192783
Trails were unrideable without causing damage so I headed out on the road.  Felt pretty gassed and really out of sync climbing (even though the climbs were minor).  Had planned to go all the way into Boulder and south on Cherryvale, but I cut it short down Mcaslin.  3 days in a row of riding had taken its toll…but you gotta take advantage this time of year!

Monday, March 9, 2015:https://www.strava.com/activities/265766671
I’m a big believer in teaching your body routine.  Traditionally, I take Monday’s off because the kids have their biggest workout of the week that day and it takes a while to get through.  However, C’s schedule has dictated otherwise lately.  It’s taken my body a bit to get adjusted to it.  Another trip down the BV2 route…another bonk.  Gotta figure out my nutrition during the day so I can finish these rides!  39:36 today.  3 second PR

Tuesday, March 10, 2015: https://www.strava.com/activities/266242536
Boom!  Finally connected the dots for a good ride.  Route PR for BV2 at 36:11…massive 3:25 off my previous best.  Got to the bus as it was leaving and felt great.  Could have gone farther.

Thursday, March 12, 2015: https://www.strava.com/activities/267221015
Legs have been crushed by Tuesday’s effort.  I was lazy when I got home and didn’t stretch.    Just did a quick run chatting with my athletes so I could shake out my legs.  It was tough…they dropped me frequently.

The finish line for BV2.

The finish line for BV2.

Saturday, March 13, 2015: https://www.strava.com/activities/268630607
Wildly successful track meet today and dropped another PR down BV2.  34:10!  Helped big time by the 30 minute bus schedule again.  That’s a hell of a motivator.  Felt great.  Was on an emotional high with the PR/first time averaging over 20 mph on a decent ride.

Sunday, March 14, 2015: https://www.strava.com/activities/268712935
Kinda Dirty Bismarck…Started off great with a nice dirt climb up the Coalton Jeep Road.  Then all of the good single track was closed so I went around on 128 and 93.  Couldn’t get back on til I was almost back to Superior.  Oh well.  It was a gorgeous day.  I had great music on and relatively loneliness on the trails.  Today was a day that reminds me why I bike.

IMG_3898

Pavement on the fat tires.

IMG_3904 IMG_3901 2

Ride Music of the Week: 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

