Week 8: Recovery Week!

Weekly Summary
– Low energy level a lot of the time, so I rearranged some things
– Chest pain came back this week, but still doesn’t affect exercise.  It did affect me mentally though.
– Muddiest ride of my life led to barb wire fence hopping on Sunday

Monday (1/5): 1.6 mile RUN
Tuesday (1/6): 8.6 mile BIKE
Wednesday (1/7): Off (Sick)
Thursday (1/8): 3 mile RUN
Friday (1/9): Off
Saturday (1/10): 9.5 mile BIKE
Sunday (1/11): 18.7 mi BIKE

WEEKLY TOTAL:
Run: 4.6 miles
Bike: 36.9 miles

2015 TOTAL:
Run: 9.6 miles
Bike: 43.9 miles

Monday: 1.6 mile run (https://www.strava.com/activities/238599341)
Easy warm up run.  Very nervous about chest pain so I forced myself to take it slow.  CP didn’t get worse or affect the run at all.  Quick day in the weight room on the finish.

Tuesday: 8.6 mile bike (https://www.strava.com/activities/237743482)
New loop: Christine’s loop.  Enjoyed being able to take advantage of the extended sunlight and change up the loop so I’m not just racing to the gate and back.  Also has a 2 decent climbs of about a mile each that create some variety in the loop.  Catching sunsets on top of Coalton never gets old though!

Things were a bit breezy today.

Things were a bit breezy today.

Getting warmed out to go duck hunting with the Buckeyes!

Getting warmed out to go duck hunting with the Buckeyes!

Wednesday: Off
Feeling worn down, listening to my body and took the day off.  Early to bed!

Thursday: 3 mile run (https://www.strava.com/activities/238599348)
Easily the best run of the past 8 weeks fitness wise.  I didn’t feel great (felt pretty crappy actually) but my miles were 8:08, 8:04, 9:05 for a total time of 25:33.  Nothing spectacular in the grand scheme of things, but the times are getting better.  Began to add drills in as well.  Only thing of note though was a strange heart beat at the end that seemed to skip a beat every 7th beat.  I’ll be keeping on eye on it going forward.

Friday: Off
Looking forward to a decent weekend with some longer rides!

Saturday: 9.5 mile bike (https://www.strava.com/activities/239345825)
Absolutely gorgeous Colorado day.  Did a quick out and back with Christine.  Things were a bit muddy from the snowmelt, but nothing too bad.  Legs felt heavy, but did eventually get warmed up.  Always a good day when I get to ride with my wife!

IMG_3316

Sunday: 18.7 mile bike (https://www.strava.com/activities/239874863)
Holy mud Batman!  Went out for a ride thinking it would be a bit drier than yesterday.  I was correct for the first 4 miles and then the wheels came off.  I was hoping to do a Dirty Bismarck and take my time in doing so.  Something nice in not worrying about speed and just going out for a couple hours.  There is also something fun in having your ho-hum Sunday ride turn into a journey.  Ultimately I bailed about a mile into the High Plains section of the trail.  It was just too muddy and I didn’t want to trash the trail.

The rest of the ride was a mix of road/muddy single track and then the 2.5 mile climb up Marshall Road.  All in all, not a bad day.  Maggie got a good wash and I felt a lot stronger and tougher when I was done!

IMG_3319 IMG_3320 IMG_5951 IMG_3370 IMG_3363 IMG_3322

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

